Happy Republic Day
Join Now
The Future Of Design
Explore & Enjoy!!!

Santiago Calatrava: Winner of European Prize for Architecture 2015

Posted by
on November 26, 2015 at 05:51 PM

Santiago Calatrava  - the maverick Spanish-born architect has redefined architecture as a unique, often startling blend of engineering and art! His trademark style of curving skeletal structures in white steel and concrete – inspired by forms in nature, are conceived with computer modeling and emerge as strongly sculptural, abstract compositions that seem impossible to engineer. The neo-futuristic architect, structural engineer, sculptor and painter - famous for the many bridges he has designed - has claimed the European Prize for Architecture 2015!

© Courtesy of

Born in Spain in 1951, Calatrava took a degree in architecture and intrigued by the mathematics of historic buildings, also did a course in civil engineering. In the beginning of his career, Calatrava worked as an engineer and focused on participating in architectural competitions, as it seemed the best way to secure commissions. In 1983, he won the competition for the design and construction of Stadelhofen Railway Station in Zurich. A year later, Calatrava designed and built a bridge for the Olympic Games in Barcelona, the first in a series of bridge projects that brought him in the limelight on the scene of world architecture. The studio today has offices in Zurich, Paris, Doha and New York city.

Instituted in 2010, the European Prize for Architecture is an annual awards event, with a ceremony hosted in different architectural landmarks around Europe, as a celebration of the continent’s rich architectural heritage and traditions. Supported by The Chicago Athenaeum: Museum of Architecture and Design, and The European Centre for Architecture Art Design and Urban Studies; the award aims to recognize the contributions of innovative designers across the continent.

Past winners include Danish architect Bjarke Ingels of BIG, Norwegian firm TYIN Tegnestue and Marco Casagrande. Last year’s winner was Italian architect, Alessandro Mendini.


Often courting controversy and sparking debates around the globe, Calatrava’s phantasmagorical structures mark several cities across Europe and beyond. Christian Narkiewicz-Laine, Museum President, The Chicago Athenaeum,  refers to Calatrava as "more than just an architect”, stating that his buildings are “powerful works of art; inspired by a master's gifted hand and sculpted by a superior, critical eye; immensely evocative and fiercely intellectual."

In a ceremony conducted on the 10th floor of 7 World Trade Center in New York on November 17th, Calatrava received one of Europe’s most prestigious awards for architecture.

Designer : Santiago Calatrava
Photography :Internet Sources

Share your thoughts

(required) Characters Left 500